Ohio’s State Wide Texting Ban For Drivers Set To Begin (August 31, 2012).

 House Bill 99
As of August 31, 2012, Ohio drivers can be cited for texting and driving.  The offense will initially come with a six month warning period and following the warning period, drivers can be fined up to $150.00 for texting and driving.
House Bill 99 also makes it illegal for teen drivers to use an electronic communications device in any manner while driving, including talking on a cell phone.  Teens caught violating the ordnance can have their license suspended for 60 days for a first offense.